Horror Writers Association Announces Bram Stoker Award Winners

Posted by Dale Townshend on April 01, 2012 in Uncategorized tagged with

The Horror Writers Association announced the winners of the 2011 Bram Stoker Awards at its annual awards banquet on March 31, 2012. This year’s presentation was held in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the World Horror Convention and marks the 25th Anniversary of the awards.

This year’s winners are:

Superior Achievement in a Novel
Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney (Pinnacle Books)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
Isis Unbound by Allyson Bird (Dark Regions Press)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel (tie)
The Screaming Season by Nancy Holder (Razorbill)
Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel
Neonomicon by Alan Moore (Avatar Press)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine by Peter Straub (Conjunctions: 56)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
Herman Wouk Is Still Alive by Stephen King (The Atlantic Magazine, May 2011)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay
“American Horror Story”, Episode #12: Afterbirth by Jessica Sharzer (20th Century Fox Television)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares by Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology
Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels and the Possessed edited by John Skipp (Black Dog and Leventhal)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction
Stephen King: A Literary Companion by Rocky Wood (McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection
How to Recognize a Demon Has Become Your Friend by Linda Addison (Necon Ebooks)

Tiny URL for this post: http://tinyurl.com/d868wzl